Home

Finishing the Hurry Up & Wait Challenge + Seven Design Tips on Accessorizing

February 10, 2014

Hurry Up & Wait Challenge

It has been almost two years since I began the Hurry Up & Wait Challenge.  Slowly and steadily, I have getting items to finish my living room all by using my design concept sheets and only purchasing when I had the funds available.  To wrap things up I am going to post several of the remaining items and then within the next few weeks I will be revealing the finished space.  Be prepared, there are tons of links in the post in case you are interested in anything.  Along with all of these items I am going to include design tips on finishing up a room with all the details.  By adding a few of these touches here and there to items you already have, they can help pull a room together.

ONE | LIGHTING

Most people are lacking an ample amount of light sources.  In a room with no built in fixtures, I needed a fair amount of lamps to illuminate the room.  You already saw the two blue lamps from my entryway that is essentially in my living room here.  I also posted about a floor lamp here.  To round out the lighting I was looking for some mercury glass table lamps for my end tables that flank the sofa (the same ones I purchased on Craigslist and did a redo on here).

Look around your house.  Do you have enough light where you need it?  Even if you have an overhead fixture and/or recessed lighting which are for general lighting, think about layering it with table and floor lamps which is for accent and task lighting.  It will quite literally bring to light all of the other items you have brought into your space and show them off to their greatest potential.

Design Concept Sheet - Mercury Glass Lamps

Design Concept Sheet – Mercury Glass Lamps

As you can see from my design concept sheet, I found two great examples of mercury glass.  They are substantial in size and visual weight.  The two inspiration lamps are from Lamps Plus with the one on the left being $99.99 and the one on the right being $79.95.

Mercury Glass Lamps from Home Goods on Craigslist find table.

Mercury Glass Lamps from Home Goods on Craigslist find table.

I ended up finding a pair retailed at $140 each from Home Goods for $69.99 each.  I love how it is a bit of a mix of the two inspiration ones with the gourd shape and also texture with the ribbing.

TWO | PILLOWS

Using pillows to add pattern and color to a room is no surprise.  It is also the combination of those patterns, colors, and sizes of pillows that make a statement.  Choose various sizes such as a 24” square with an 18” square or lumbar layered on top of them.  Consider scale and type of pattern.  I like to combine a geometric pattern with stripes and florals or other abstract.  Within these patterns, vary the scale with some large and some small.  Keep them all bound together by keeping the color scheme the same.  I have personally chosen to have my bigger ticket items neutral and add these detailed elements through accent pieces such as pillows, so in the future I can change them out for a whole new look without having to break the bank.

A pair of pillows for the sofa has already been shown to you here that I got at Target.  I had two more pillows on the list, one for each of my chairs.  For chair 2 (labeled sofa pillows on the design concept sheet, I changed my mind and switched them) I wanted an embellished pillow with lots of color.

Design Concept Sheet - Chair 2 Pillow with Anthropologie Fantastic Forest Pillow

Design Concept Sheet – Chair 2 Pillow with Anthropologie Fantastic Forest Pillow

I first fell in love with the Fantastic Forest Pillow (on the right picture on my design concept sheet) from Anthropologie.  It is priced at $128 and is absolutely scrumptious with its crewel work lion.  If I lived by myself and never had anyone over, I would probably save up and purchase this beauty, but that is not the world I live in.

Embroidered elephant pillow from Home Goods

Embroidered elephant pillow from Home Goods

Finding an embroidered elephant one at Home Goods for $29.99 satisfied my need for a fun animal and wild color.

For chair 1 I wanted an Ikat that included all the colors of my room in one pillow.

Design Concept Sheet - Ikat Pillow for Chair 1

Design Concept Sheet – Ikat Pillow for Chair 1

Again, I found one at Home Goods for $29.99 fit the bill.  Gray, turquoise, and bright celadon get unified in one piece.

Pillows- Top: Geometric Lumbar for the sofa, Bottom Left: Ikat for chair 1, Bottom Right: Embroidered Starburst for the sofa

Pillows- Top: Geometric Lumbar for the sofa, Bottom Left: Ikat for chair 1, Bottom Right: Embroidered Starburst for the sofa

After much debate, I decided that the sofa could use a few more decorative cushions, and when I saw this small scale geometric lumber pillow in celadon green and cream, I could not resist the $19.99 gem.  Then I had a moment of weakness on a trip to West Elm.  I saw the 18” square Embroidered Starburst Pillow and I knew it would be right at home on my sofa in front of the Target pillows and with the celadon lumbar in between them.  They were a little more pricey than I usually go since I know what pillows go through in my household, but I splurged spending $39.00 for each cover and $12.99 each on the inserts (yes, ok, I got two).  And although these are a solid, they still have the interest of a pattern due to the texture they have.

THREE | NATURAL ELEMENTS

Using natural elements in your home such as rough hewn wood or stone can be a wonderful way to refresh your room.  By introducing items that have the feeling of just picking something up from a nature walk and putting inside your space add warmth and interest.  Think about things like driftwood, shells, stones, crystals, and pebbles.  Even in a more dressy style, by adding small bits of nature into the mix, it just works.

I was looking for just that type of element and was saving up for one of the items on my design concept sheet.

Design Concept Sheet - Accent Table with West Elm's Natural Tree Stump Side Table

Design Concept Sheet – Accent Table with West Elm’s Natural Tree Stump Side Table

The $199 Natural Tree Stump Side Table from West Elm (on right on design concept sheet) was beckoning me when my husband discovered a $79 burled wood table at Home Goods.

Burled Wood Stacked Accent Table from Home Goods

Burled Wood Stacked Accent Table from Home Goods

It has the same feeling of the earthy goodness I wanted for a little side table for one of the chairs.  The texture that the chunky slabs have is just perfect.  Thanks honey!

FOUR | HEIRLOOM PIECES

I have written an entire post on using heirloom pieces here and am touching a bit on the same piece that I featured.

Heirloom Mid Century Modern Bench

This mid-century modern bench my dad made in high school was a no brainer when it came to using it in my home.  Before I acquired the bench, I had planned on having a bench in my living room.  I was looking for an upholstered long bench with wood legs and celadon fabric.  This Pier 1 bench as shown on my design concept sheet was what I had my eye on for $179.99.

Design Concept Sheet - Bench with the Pier 1 Mason Bench in Avocado

Design Concept Sheet – Bench with the Pier 1 Mason Bench in Avocado

After I got my dad’s bench, I knew I could make it work.  By adding two Palm Dasutti Chair Cushions from World Market for $16.99 each, I got my cushion and I got my color without compromising the original piece.

Palm Dasutti Chair Cushion from World Market Cost Plus

Palm Dasutti Chair Cushion from World Market Cost Plus

Heirloom pieces have such wonderful history and I encourage you to find ways to use family furnishings and accessories to work in your space.  You never know that grandmas sewing table could become your next console that has character and a story to go along with it.

FIVE | BASKETS

Baskets can be a decorative life saver to most rooms.  They can house all those necessary little gadgets that clutter up tables.  Stashing doggie toys is one of the best uses I have found for these wonderful containers.  So many styles and colors are available and can be found from high end department stores to thrift shops.  Basket groupings are a great way to fill a corner and a series can look fantastic in a row on a shelf.  Texture and color AND function, what more could you want?

On the hunt for a matching set of containers, I spotted three lidded baskets at Home Goods for $19.99 each.  I love how the color ties into the rest of the room with the navy and celadon.  The lids keep items hidden and out of sight (there are doggie toys in basket #3).

Baskets from Home Goods

Baskets from Home Goods

SIX | PLANTS

One of the best accessories you can add to a room is plants.  Their organic shapes bring life and movement to hard surfaces.  So many shapes of leaves with varying shades of color are available that it really comes down to preference and your own level of care.  Along with plants come decorative pots.  I found two at Home Goods for $7.99 each and one at the 99 Cent Store that I DIY’ed by painting on a gold pattern.

Coffee Table blue pot from Home Goods

Coffee Table blue pot from Home Goods

Potted Plants- Left: Home Goods, Right: DIY 99 Cent Store Project

Potted Plants- Left: Home Goods, Right: DIY 99 Cent Store Project inspired by an Anthropologie book cover pattern

SEVEN | SPRAY PAINT

Spray paint has become one of my closest friends lately and no it is not for the fumes.  I love how it can transform items into something totally different.  The next time you are looking at items you already own, or are at the local flea market think about the possibilities that spray paint can accomplish.  Rust-Oleum carries so many colors and finishes it is almost mind boggling.  Metallics, textures, brights, the list goes on and on.

Case in point, I purchased a $7.99 vase at Home Goods with the intention of making it look like the $28.00 Curvy Chrysanthemum Vase from Anthropologie (pictured on right on my design concept sheet).

Design Concept Sheet - Accessories with Anthropologie's Curvy Chrysanthemum Vase

Design Concept Sheet – Accessories with Anthropologie’s Curvy Chrysanthemum Vase

With some help from Rust-Oleum’s Painter’s Touch 2X in Satin Fire Orange, I was able to achieve the same feeling.  I used the $3.87 can for several other projects for other rooms and I still have paint left with more projects in mind.

BEFORE: Blue Vase from Home Goods

BEFORE: Blue Vase from Home Goods

IN PROGRESS: Wrapped in paper and blue painters tape

IN PROGRESS: Wrapped in paper and blue painters tape

IN PROGRESS: Spray painted with Rust-Oleum's Painter’s Touch 2X in Satin Fire Orange

IN PROGRESS: Spray painted with Rust-Oleum’s Painter’s Touch 2X in Satin Fire Orange

AFTER: Blue vase with spray painted orange flower inspired by Anthropologie vase

AFTER: Blue vase with spray painted orange flower inspired by Anthropologie vase

I also painted a $14.99 small black deer bust from Home Goods gold with Rust-Oleum’s Specialty Metallic in Gold for $3.76.

BEFORE: Black deer head from Home Goods

BEFORE: Black deer head from Home Goods

It really makes him look so much happier!

AFTER: Home Goods deer head spray painted with Rust-Oleum's Specialty Metallic in Gold

AFTER: Home Goods deer head spray painted with Rust-Oleum’s Specialty Metallic in Gold

And lastly, I used the same gold to create a pattern with blue painters tape on Walmarts $16 Better Homes and Gardens Laminated Bamboo Serving Tray that I posted a DIY on here.

BEFORE: Walmart's Better Homes and Gardens Laminated Bamboo Serving Tray

BEFORE: Walmart’s Better Homes and Gardens Laminated Bamboo Serving Tray

AFTER: DIY Gold Striped Tray

AFTER: DIY Gold Striped Tray

I am in the process of editing the photos of the finished room and I can’t wait to show you everything put together.  This challenge has pushed my creativity and made me appreciate the little things.  It has brought me and my husband closer together and is a personal project that I will cherish for years to come.

And that’s a wrap…

finished check list

Janeane

2014 JPID Logo

4 Responses to “Finishing the Hurry Up & Wait Challenge + Seven Design Tips on Accessorizing”

  1. Julie Hobart Says:

    I can’t wait it see how it all looks together! I love Dad’s bench with your designs. Love, Julie


  2. I love all your ideas. Cannot wait to see the finished room!!

    ~Cheryl

    http://snaps-of-ginger.blogspot.com/


I love to read your comments. Please leave me a note! Thanks

House of Earnest

Home | Made | Style - A home decor, DIY, and entertaining blog

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers

