Home

Heirloom Piece

October 8, 2013

Part of the design plan for my own personal living room was having a long bench for extra seating for two.  Wanting to keep the room from looking like it came right out of a showroom, I have been keeping my options open to unique and uncommon places to shop.  I want this space to be inviting and have pieces that you just don’t see anywhere.  Recently, I remembered that my dad had made a piece back in high school that might just fit the bill for this bench.  The thought of having an heirloom furniture item made it seem that more special.

Image

Image

Image

Mid Century Modern in style, the slated top and tapered, streamline legs add a much needed masculine touch to counterbalance some of the other items I have selected for the room.  He constructed it out of solid mahogany back in 1962 as freshman in wood shop.  Each piece was planed and glue blocked together, making it extremely sturdy.  Even the six legs were turned on a lathe by him.  I do however need to find the little brass caps/feet as they are currently missing.  The handmade charm fits perfectly into my artful space and it is one more item down on the list of things to get to complete the room.  I am such a proud daughter!

Image

Do you have heirloom pieces in your home?  Please share.

Janeane Pittman

Janeane Pittman Interior Design

www.janeanepittman.com

One Response to “Heirloom Piece”


  1. […] have written an entire post on using heirloom pieces here and am touching a bit on the same piece that I […]


I love to read your comments. Please leave me a note! Thanks

The Thrifty Girl's Guide

Money saving tips for shopaholics, penny pinchers and everyone in between!

Curves, Curls and Clothes

Affordable fashion blog for the plus size, curvy and stylish!

Designing From My Closet

Style Tips and Services for Every Woman

Tutus And Tiny Hats

I am large, I contain multitudes.

IAMSHEGLOBAL

An exploration of art, culture and fashion through travel around the globe.

With Wonder and Whimsy

Whimsical Fashion, Travel & Lifestyle

Design*Sponge

Your home for all things Design. Home Tours, DIY Project, City Guides, Shopping Guides, Before & Afters and much more

Earnest Home co.

Home | Made | Style - A home decor, DIY, and entertaining blog

