Home

Transforming Hardware

October 28, 2013

transforming hardware title pic

{Emerson 6-Drawer Dresser}

A recent restyle of a furniture piece has got me on the hunt for knobs.  The options are truly almost endless.  It is amazing on what hardware can do to a dresser and I love to call it “the jewelry”.  As an experiment I took one of my favorite dressers from West Elm and thought I would play with different hardware to see how the rustic nature of the storage piece would change to work in four distinct styles.

edgy glamour

The Braided Coronet Knob from Anthropologie with its punchy orange resin center surrounded by the brass fringe edge up the rough wood.  I call this look Edgy Glamour because I can see this dresser at home in a more refined room that has an urban sophistication.  This hardware reminds me literally of earrings.

artsy

Cost Plus World Market has these Green Floral Swirl Ceramic Knobs.  They boast hand-painted floral details that falls under my Artsy style.  This dresser will fit right in to a country or vintage style home with feminine touches, perhaps a young girl or teens bedroom.  These beauties make me want to bust out my paint brush and get creating.

shabby chic

Etsy store DaRosa created these lovely Flower Drawer knobs Mum in White.  The resin flowers are just right for a Shabby Chic room.  The white color just pops off the wood giving that ever so recognizable look between the rustic and elegant.  These look so lifelike and are just adorable.

global mix

For the last look, Hobby Lobby carries these White & Black round ceramic knobs.  The hand crafted look and bold yet simple pattern is a sure sign of the Global Mix look.  Adding these global touches is one of my favorite things to do recently and I am amazed at how many other items it can be paired with.  I love the way they top off the textural dresser.

Which style is your favorite?

Has anyone else done a simple style makeover with hardware?  Please share.

Janeane Pittman

Janeane Pittman Interior Design

www.janeanepittman.com

I love to read your comments. Please leave me a note! Thanks

The Thrifty Girl's Guide

Money saving tips for shopaholics, penny pinchers and everyone in between!

Curves, Curls and Clothes

Affordable fashion blog for the plus size, curvy and stylish!

Designing From My Closet

Style Tips and Services for Every Woman

Tutus And Tiny Hats

I am large, I contain multitudes.

IAMSHEGLOBAL

An exploration of art, culture and fashion through travel around the globe.

With Wonder and Whimsy

Whimsical Fashion, Travel & Lifestyle

Design*Sponge

Your home for all things Design. Home Tours, DIY Project, City Guides, Shopping Guides, Before & Afters and much more

Earnest Home co.

Home | Made | Style - A home decor, DIY, and entertaining blog

