Home

Why I do what I do

October 29, 2013

Image

People become interior designers for so many different reasons.  There are so many talented individuals in the field and I have been honored to work with and be associated with several.  I enjoy reading designer bios and hearing about the desire to create from a young age like I did.  Each one has a unique way of looking at things and a different philosophy of how they work with clients.  Interior design is a profession that has been around for a long time and the designer’s job has morphed over the years to accommodate what is going on in modern society.  With different events happening in my personal life, it has formed me into the person I am today and has made a huge impact on my designs.  It has been impressed upon me to write a post regarding why I do what I do as far as being an interior designer, so I hope you don’t mind me sharing a little.

After a family member was diagnosed with a devastating disease along with having a big financial shift in our household due to my husband being laid off, my view on design was shaken.  I even got to the point of wondering why I chose this profession.  Prayer on the matter made me realize that I needed to come back to my roots.  What were the reasons I became a designer in the first place?  It had nothing to do with that expensive rug or that fancy chandelier.  Although I still love beautiful things, my focus came back even stronger.  It was the people who are going to live it that space I designed that radiated brighter than any furniture piece or art work ever could.  I do what I do to make people happy in their space.  To be surrounded by items they love and being able to guide them and sometimes push them beyond what they thought through the design process.  Using family heirlooms and previously owned items in unexpected ways instead of always starting everything from scratch.  It is also about creating new traditions for a young couple starting off and having a plan for them to grow into because the budget just will not allow it all at the beginning.

With the holidays approaching, I know that the best decoration and gift that will be present in my home will be my friends and family.  Having all the pretties is just icing on the cake.  I wish everyone a wonderful upcoming Thanksgiving with lots of love.  Be happy in your home and surround yourself with items that you adore regardless of if it is not of the latest trend.  Look forward to the wonderful possibilities that are right around the corner.

Janeane

Janeane Pittman Interior Design

www.janeanepittman.com

I love to read your comments. Please leave me a note! Thanks

The Thrifty Girl's Guide

Money saving tips for shopaholics, penny pinchers and everyone in between!

Curves, Curls and Clothes

Affordable fashion blog for the plus size, curvy and stylish!

Designing From My Closet

Style Tips and Services for Every Woman

Tutus And Tiny Hats

I am large, I contain multitudes.

IAMSHEGLOBAL

An exploration of art, culture and fashion through travel around the globe.

With Wonder and Whimsy

Whimsical Fashion, Travel & Lifestyle

Design*Sponge

Your home for all things Design. Home Tours, DIY Project, City Guides, Shopping Guides, Before & Afters and much more

Earnest Home co.

Home | Made | Style - A home decor, DIY, and entertaining blog

