Home

A Sentimental Journey

November 11, 2013

Image

European and Serene; these are the terms my client used to describe her idea that she wanted for this guest room in her home.  Having this beautiful bed to work with, I took this space in the direction of having the feeling of sitting in the middle of a misty field in the early morning hours.  That’s how I would want to wake up every morning!  I can almost hear the flutes & violins playing Edvard Griegs’s Peer Gynt Sweet 1 Opus 46 or more commonly known as “Morning”.  Go ahead, click the link and play the song as you scroll through the rest of this post.

The mural was pulled from my memory of my time spent in the mid-west.  Driving through Kansas on Sunday drives I used to see miles and miles of fields with wild trees and bushes.  It was one of the most serene feelings I could recall.  Since the closet doors were such a big part of wall real estate and the fact that they were one of the first things you see when you walk into the room, I decided to carry the wall color and mural right onto them to unify them with the rest of the walls.

Image

serenity room c

Image

A little niche now houses a small dresser that was found at Home Goods and it fits perfectly.  The lantern that was procured on the same shopping trip, is filled with butterflies that I gave DIY directions for here.  It found its final home on top the chest of drawers.

The opera poster was where the color inspiration of cream, ecru, and teal blue came from for this bedroom.  My client has fond memories of attending the showing in her college days and I was happy to bring it into the space since it had been “homeless” for many years.  The blue night stand was a project I took on that I will be going into more detail in a future post.

Image

serenity room g

Image

Image

Painted and curved, the right side table was discovered at Home Goods as well as the ornately carved blue lamps with burlap shades.

My client has named this space her Serenity Room and I think it reflects that title perfectly.

Image

Image

Image

Image

-Janeane

Janeane Pittman Interior Design

www.janeanepittman.com

3 Responses to “A Sentimental Journey”


  1. […] My experience with painting the nightstand was this…I took the doors off, taped off the metal pieces, and got to painting.  I ended up putting three coats of the Provence color on and then waxed it to seal and finish the piece.  I mean really, I just slapped it on, in all directions, especially to hide all the imperfections on the top.  Overall, it was pretty simple and was so pleased with the results.  The matte finish and color was unbeatable.  I got two knobs from The Home Depot to complete the look.  Now in place in my client’s home, it brought nostalgia to a newly designed bedroom.  To see the rest of this room, see my post here. […]


  2. I love all of the touches! I love, love, love that chandelier!


I love to read your comments. Please leave me a note! Thanks

The Thrifty Girl's Guide

Money saving tips for shopaholics, penny pinchers and everyone in between!

Curves, Curls and Clothes

Affordable fashion blog for the plus size, curvy and stylish!

Designing From My Closet

Style Tips and Services for Every Woman

Tutus And Tiny Hats

I am large, I contain multitudes.

IAMSHEGLOBAL

An exploration of art, culture and fashion through travel around the globe.

Design*Sponge

Your home for all things Design. Home Tours, DIY Project, City Guides, Shopping Guides, Before & Afters and much more

Earnest Home co.

The New Traditional

