Home

Chalk One More Up for Design

November 12, 2013

Incorporating existing furniture pieces is something I encourage when designing a space.  When faced with several pieces of furnishings that do not have a home, but yet you have a sentimental attachment to them or you just love the item, I say, find a way to make it work.  This was true for my client who had a nightstand that had been lovingly used for many, many years in her household.

Image

The lines and details were fantastic.  Sturdy and functional, this side table still had more life in her.  I knew that a coat of paint and finding knob replacements for the now hardware-less doors was all she needed.  After stumbling upon a unique local shop on Facebook, I recalled the claim of a chalk paint stating that there would be no priming or sanding required.  Well, sign me up for that one!  This “paint boutique” called Peinture Studios was on my GPS faster than I could think.  Side note: The morning I was driving out to pick up my chalk paint, Jessica from Breakfast at Gigi’s posted about her experience with painting an entry table with the same product and I had to laugh.  She posts really cute pics of outfits most of the time and she also does decorating segments as well, so check her out!

Image

Peinture Studios is located at the SOCO shops in Costa Mesa, CA.  Their merchandising is superb with chairs mounted from floor to ceiling displaying all the chalk paint colors.  They even have a part of the store dedicated to workshops.  I spy with my little eye, an ikat stencil sample board.  I am keeping that as inspiration.

Image

My experience with painting the nightstand was this…I took the doors off, taped off the metal pieces, and got to painting.  I ended up putting three coats of the Provence color on and then waxed it to seal and finish the piece.  I mean really, I just slapped it on, in all directions, especially to hide all the imperfections on the top.  Overall, it was pretty simple and was so pleased with the results.  The matte finish and color was unbeatable.  I got two knobs from The Home Depot to complete the look.  Now in place in my client’s home, it brought nostalgia to a newly designed bedroom.  To see the rest of this room, see my post here.

Image

Image

-Janeane

Janeane Pittman Interior Design

www.janeanepittman.com

4 Responses to “Chalk One More Up for Design”

  1. Jessica Says:

    Wow, it looks great! Love the color you chose too. It is so easy working with chalk paint I’m a huge fan. And I love the rest of the room you designed, the bedding and chandelier are just lovely! Thanks for the shout out 🙂

    • designwithj9 Says:

      Thank you Jessica. Yes, I have been converted to a chalk paint fan, so simple. That chandelier turned that room really into something special. It kind of sang to me in the showroom! And you are so welcome for linking you. I truly do enjoy your posts as I am sure many others do.

      Janeane


  2. ooo I love it. Furniture transformations are so fun. That one turned out great!


I love to read your comments. Please leave me a note! Thanks

The Thrifty Girl's Guide

Money saving tips for shopaholics, penny pinchers and everyone in between!

Curves, Curls and Clothes

Affordable fashion blog for the plus size, curvy and stylish!

Designing From My Closet

Style Tips and Services for Every Woman

Tutus And Tiny Hats

I am large, I contain multitudes.

IAMSHEGLOBAL

An exploration of art, culture and fashion through travel around the globe.

With Wonder and Whimsy

Whimsical Fashion, Travel & Lifestyle

Design*Sponge

Your home for all things Design. Home Tours, DIY Project, City Guides, Shopping Guides, Before & Afters and much more

Earnest Home co.

Home | Made | Style - A home decor, DIY, and entertaining blog

