Home

Hurry Up and Wait Challenge

November 19, 2013

Hurry Up and Wait Challenge Title Block

Living in a place where instant gratification is common place, I have found that the world of interior design has become more and more sucked into this phenomenon.  Every time I watch one of my favorite HGTV shows I am inundated with having a room designed and completed within the half hour, getting the itch to cry out in a very baby like fashion “I want it, and I want it now!” (can you picture the stomping of feet and waving of fists?)

After living in a three bedroom house for more than ten years in Kansas, my husband and I accumulated many furnishings and accessories to fill every square inch of it, including storage in the basement.  Then things changed.  Income dwindled due to a layoff and our lifestyle had to completely change.  In the midst of that, we made the decision to move back to California to be close to family, especially a member that was diagnosed with dementia.  With the move impending, we sold most of our belongings and took very little back to the West Coast.  At first, I thought I would miss all of those things, but as I saw piece by piece being taken out, I felt a sense of relief come over me.

Walking through a cute, empty bungalow where we now rent and reside, I realized that I did not want to just fill that house with just anything.  I wanted it to be special.  I wanted it to be a reflection of who I am now.  Expenses from the move did not exactly leave our bank account full and I needed to start over building contacts in the interior design industry like I had already established in the Mid-West.  This did not however leave my creative mind from seeing the possibilities in my home.

I soon developed a design plan for our front living room that I shared with my husband.  It had a detailed list of the items with a projected budget.  He loved the plan, hated the budget.  It was at that time that I created the “Hurry Up and Wait Challenge” for myself.  This challenge consisted of having the plan in place (that’s the hurry up part), but only making purchases when funds were available (that’s the wait part!).  Even at that, when making the purchases I wanted to beat even the budget I had placed on the original plan and I was going to use NO CREDIT!  I also did this to prove to others that good design can be accomplished even when you are on a budget.  The plan, that I modeled after my “DIY With Your Hand Held” service, is what makes it key.

It was intriguing to me to see people come over and see my hand-me-down furnishings lovingly donated to me from my aunt when we moved back.  I always just smiled.  As much as these pieces did not fit my taste, they symbolized much more to me as we used them for over two years.  At this point, I had only been able to obtain a large area rug in a clashing mix of style.  Might I point out the heavy emphasis on the wait portion of this challenge.  It is kind of like having people critique your painting before it is finished.

living room before

Several more pieces have been added since then, and the flowered sofas are now gone.  Each piece has been selected according to the design plan, and I could not be happier.  And they are all paid for!  As much as I would love to show you a complete room at this time, I have to say that it is still a work in progress.  I predict it will be done the early part of next year and I will proudly post the outcome.  The other thing that I have learned during this process is how much people say that they could not do it.  I have found it quite soothing to not settle on cheap, throw-away furnishings just because I want my room to “look” right.  This lesson has gone way beyond design and the way my house looks; it teaches me every day to appreciate the most important features in my home: my ever loving husband and my adorable black lab, Maggie Mae.  I plan on introducing the Hurry Up and Wait Challenge as special segments as I go sharing images and explanations so you can follow along.

-Janeane

Janeane Pittman Interior Design

www.janeanepittman.com

5 Responses to “Hurry Up and Wait Challenge”


  1. […] recently made the decision to purchase a sofa for our living room after saving up.  If you read my “Hurry Up & Wait Challenge” post, you know we had been using a hand-me-down floral sofa that was far from our ideal style.  […]


  2. […] an idea of finding unique accessory pieces for my living room that is part of my series for the Hurry Up and Wait Challenge, I set out on my venture.  If you have never visited this particular flea market, it is absolutely […]


  3. […] of my gifts were off of my living room check list from my Hurry Up & Wait Challenge and I am proud to show them off.  My wonderful husband surprised me with a gorgeous braided fig […]


  4. […] has been almost two years since I began the Hurry Up & Wait Challenge.  Slowly and steadily, I have getting items to finish my living room all by using my design […]


  5. […] two years of going through my Hurry Up & Wait Challenge, I am proud to show you the fruits of my labor.  You have followed me every step of the way with […]


I love to read your comments. Please leave me a note! Thanks

The Thrifty Girl's Guide

Money saving tips for shopaholics, penny pinchers and everyone in between!

Curves, Curls and Clothes

Affordable fashion blog for the plus size, curvy and stylish!

Designing From My Closet

Style Tips and Services for Every Woman

Tutus And Tiny Hats

I am large, I contain multitudes.

IAMSHEGLOBAL

An exploration of art, culture and fashion through travel around the globe.

Design*Sponge

Your home for all things Design. Home Tours, DIY Project, City Guides, Shopping Guides, Before & Afters and much more

Earnest Home co.

The New Traditional

