Home

The Good, The Bad, & The Ugly {in furniture that is}

December 4, 2013

I am here to reveal a deep, dark secret: I have a recliner in my home.  It is not even an attractive looking one, yes it is downright ugly.  Being married to a wonderful man who happens to be tall and broad shouldered; my very own mountain man, comes with conflict when it comes to my design aesthetic.  So when it came time to purchase a chair especially for him to relax and watch television in years ago, I explored my options.

Feet propping was essential as well as “cush” factor and size. 

As much as I tried to steer the search towards leather options, it was clearly out of the question.  The more we looked, the more frustrated we got with each other.  Then it finally hit me, what was I fighting for?  This man who has supported me through so much wants to have a comfy place to sit after a hard days work and I am worried about how it looks in OUR home.

My mind went to the Frasier show where his dad’s recliner sat smack dab in the middle of his sleek, modern apartment, tape and all.

Image

It was settled then; a brown recliner was coming home with us.  It has been years since that day and my husband is still in love with his chair.

I liken it to a vintage pitchers glove, only without the vintage appeal.

Image

It is now worn in by love with a torn arm and butt divots to boot.

Image

The moral of the story: the good is we still love each other, the bad is how nasty a designer I was during shopping, and the ugly is still that monstrosity of a recliner!

-Janeane

Logo with Bird

4 Responses to “The Good, The Bad, & The Ugly {in furniture that is}”


  1. I have an ugly chair in my home too. So comfy, but old ugly fabric. I really want to redo the fabric but it’s an odd shape. Guess I’ll have to save up and have it done!

  2. two birds Says:

    the imprints make it amazing. hey, it’s comfy and he loves it…so there are some perks!!


I love to read your comments. Please leave me a note! Thanks

The Thrifty Girl's Guide

Money saving tips for shopaholics, penny pinchers and everyone in between!

Curves, Curls and Clothes

Affordable fashion blog for the plus size, curvy and stylish!

Designing From My Closet

Style Tips and Services for Every Woman

Tutus And Tiny Hats

I am large, I contain multitudes.

IAMSHEGLOBAL

An exploration of art, culture and fashion through travel around the globe.

With Wonder and Whimsy

Whimsical Fashion, Travel & Lifestyle

Design*Sponge

Your home for all things Design. Home Tours, DIY Project, City Guides, Shopping Guides, Before & Afters and much more

Earnest Home co.

Home | Made | Style - A home decor, DIY, and entertaining blog

