Home

Interior Design Finds {Accessories}

December 9, 2013

ID finds facebook title block a

Going to the flea market is an activity I always look forward to.  A recent trip to the Long Beach Antique Market was no different.  Having an idea of finding unique accessory pieces for my living room that is part of my series for the Hurry Up and Wait Challenge, I set out on my venture.  If you have never visited this particular flea market, it is absolutely massive and I honestly never made it through the whole thing.  Rows of goodies and delights made my eyes glow with excitement.  I also have to admit, part of the fun is seeing all the interesting patrons and vendors there as well.

Ah, the thrill of the hunt.

HUW Challenge accessories logo

Here is my Design Concept Pages for finding accessories for my living room

DIYpage21

DIYpage23

My first stop was a booth that had antler sheds.  Mounds of beautiful white nature filled antlers!  The vendor made the sell even more scrumptious as he pointed out where every piece came from.  Three of these sheds were quickly put in my bag as I went on my way as my husband proclaimed “You like horns?”

2013-11-17 11.49.07

Glittering crystal caught my eye next.  This amethyst chunk from Brazil that housed a tea candle was so beyond perfect.

2013-11-17 11.49.03

Next stop: Rustic Town. 

A vendor with loads of rusty and chippy items made me take a second look.  At first glance I did not know what this curly q wire box was, so I inquired.  I was told it was a locker box so you can still see the items when the drawer was locked up.  It still wears a metal numbered badge that brings intrigue.  As I said, I’ll take it, a woman asked if he had any more, and I quickly snatched up MY basket.  This had to be the piece of the day as many people asked about it when I walked the rows.

2013-11-17 11.49.17

Growing tired, I was making my way back to the exit when this little doggy called my name.  The brass nutcracker was almost too cute for words and I just love the patina on his carved fur.  Although he was a little damaged, coming apart at the seam, I still took him home with me.  It is so fun making him talk when moving his tail.

2013-11-17 11.48.57

Entertainment Piece!

I am excited to share my finds with you.  This excitement spurred on a Facebook group that I just began called Interior Design Finds.  It is a place for the DIY enthusiast who loves to decorate their home and share posts and pictures of their latest “find”.  So let’s see all those treasures from the flea market, consignment shop, discount store, estate sale, and retail sale & clearance section.  If you would like to become a member, please request.  I look forward to seeing you and your finds!

As usual for all my posts related to the Hurry Up & Wait Challenge, here is the updated checklist on where I am with my living room project.  As you can see, I have a partial check on the accessories as I plan on getting more in the future.

living room check list

-Janeane

Logo with Bird

One Response to “Interior Design Finds {Accessories}”


  1. I LOVE that nutcracker! It looks like my sweet Bentley puppy 🙂

    ~Cheryl
    http://snaps-of-ginger.blogspot.com/


I love to read your comments. Please leave me a note! Thanks

The Thrifty Girl's Guide

Money saving tips for shopaholics, penny pinchers and everyone in between!

Curves, Curls and Clothes

Affordable fashion blog for the plus size, curvy and stylish!

Designing From My Closet

Style Tips and Services for Every Woman

Tutus And Tiny Hats

I am large, I contain multitudes.

IAMSHEGLOBAL

An exploration of art, culture and fashion through travel around the globe.

Design*Sponge

Your home for all things Design. Home Tours, DIY Project, City Guides, Shopping Guides, Before & Afters and much more

Earnest Home co.

The New Traditional

