Home

Living with the Spoils of Christmas

January 27, 2014

Although the decorations are put away, I still am enjoying the spoils of Christmas.  I tend to want to listen to Christmas music all year long because I am such a nut.  It has been that way since I was a child.  This past holiday, I was sicker than a dog and on Christmas day I sat in a recliner covered by a blanket with my husband’s family.  I did however receive some thoughtful gifts despite the fact that I felt so horrible.  It was so lovely to be surrounded by people who cared for me and I was catered to like a regular Tiny Tim.

Image

Two of my gifts were off of my living room check list from my Hurry Up & Wait Challenge and I am proud to show them off.  My wonderful husband surprised me with a gorgeous braided fig tree.  I just about cried I loved it so much, all over a tree.  I just love the large deep green leaves that this species has.  It brings life and height to interiors and my living room will be no exception.

Image

Here is my design concept sheet for the tree and pot.

Image

Replenishing the house with food after the holidays and sickness, a trip to Costco proved even more fruitful when I spotted this beautiful big pot for $40.  The color is perfect and the texture adds interest.

Image

And then, my in-laws gifted me my window treatments. (Thanks guys!)

Here is my design concept sheet for the drapery.

Image

As you can see, I had specified solid gray panels, but when I saw the Scribble Curtains in Midnight Blue on the West Elm website, I could not resist the pattern.  I loved the fact that they came in 96” length so I could mount them the way I wanted.  I knew they would be an asset to the room and am so grateful I received this generous gift.

If I have not mentioned it before, I live in a rental.  This little bungalow has some quirks, but is perfect for us.  The front window in the living room is very wide.  White faux wood blinds came with the house and they are very functional.

Image

Sorry the lighting is so bad. I still need lamps!

To add softness, texture, pattern, and height to this side of the room, I mounted the panels right at the ceiling with $2 cafe curtain rods from Big Lots since this treatment is purely decorative.  These particular curtains have a hidden tab header that created a lovely wave pleating down the whole length right down to the floor.

Image

Image

Excuse the popcorn ceiling, what can I say, the house was built in the 60’s.

Image

They make a huge difference in the room and it soothed my Christmas tree separation that I had just taken down from right in front of the window.

Image

Two more down!  We are almost done.

Image

See the rest of my purchases from this checklist by selecting the Hurry Up & Wait Challenge category.

Janeane

2014 JPID Logo

I love to read your comments. Please leave me a note! Thanks

The Thrifty Girl's Guide

Money saving tips for shopaholics, penny pinchers and everyone in between!

Curves, Curls and Clothes

Affordable fashion blog for the plus size, curvy and stylish!

Designing From My Closet

Style Tips and Services for Every Woman

Tutus And Tiny Hats

I am large, I contain multitudes.

IAMSHEGLOBAL

An exploration of art, culture and fashion through travel around the globe.

With Wonder and Whimsy

Whimsical Fashion, Travel & Lifestyle

Design*Sponge

Your home for all things Design. Home Tours, DIY Project, City Guides, Shopping Guides, Before & Afters and much more

Earnest Home co.

Home | Made | Style - A home decor, DIY, and entertaining blog

