Home

{Get the Look} Bedroom Retreat

January 29, 2014

This week for my Get the Look segment I chose this beautiful bedroom retreat created by Domicile Interior Design.  When I first saw this space, I was immediately drawn to it due to the bright orange wall behind the bed.  To some, orange is not a favorite shade and find it jarring, but I find in this application on just one wall with the addition of the blossom panels that cover a good two thirds of the color and the white bedding, drapery, and trim make it palatable and downright inviting.  The Asian flair in a modern room is something I am surprised I like, but I can’t resist all the accessories and variety of color Domicile has cleverly pulled together.

Image

Image

I have incorporated a couple of DIY items into the mix.  Number 1 is the blossom panels that flank the headboard.  By using wall covering and a simple thin trim painted light gray or silver framing the paper, the effect will be stunning.  The other DIY project is numbers 18 and 19 in combination.  I really like these parsons desks as nightstands because they have a drawer where the inspiration room does not.  By using flat back pyramid studs, you can recreate the pattern easily by gluing them on.  These PB Teen white desks come in a mini 30″ wide size if the 47.75″ does not work in your space.

While I hope that these Get the Look posts inspire you, my goal is to guide you to investigate your own personal style and to use the resources as a jumping off point to making your home your own.  These rooms I select happened to be styles I get excited about.  So start thinking of using colors such as orange in combination with other colors, start pushing yourself to create a space you feel reflects your unique personality.

1 | Blossom Wall Covering

2 | Daredevil Orange Paint

3 | Ikat Pillows

4 | Elephant

5 | Blue Vase

6 | Gold Bird

7 | Monk Figurines

8 | Headboard

9 | White Lamp Shade

10 | Driftwood Lamp

11 | Green Vase

12 | Pearl Vase

13 | Frame

14 | Gold Bench

15 | Foo Dog

16 | Gold Bowl

17 | Throw

18 | Side Table

19 | Studs

20 | Long Bench

21 | Rug

Janeane

2014 JPID Logo

2 Responses to “{Get the Look} Bedroom Retreat”


  1. What I wouldn’t give to have your eye for this!!! I’m working on a Valentine vignette and I’m channeling you. haha!! Can’t wait for you to see it.

    ~Cheryl
    http://snaps-of-ginger.blogspot.com/


I love to read your comments. Please leave me a note! Thanks

The Thrifty Girl's Guide

Money saving tips for shopaholics, penny pinchers and everyone in between!

Curves, Curls and Clothes

Affordable fashion blog for the plus size, curvy and stylish!

Designing From My Closet

Style Tips and Services for Every Woman

Tutus And Tiny Hats

I am large, I contain multitudes.

IAMSHEGLOBAL

An exploration of art, culture and fashion through travel around the globe.

Design*Sponge

Your home for all things Design. Home Tours, DIY Project, City Guides, Shopping Guides, Before & Afters and much more

Earnest Home co.

The New Traditional

