Home

{Get the Look} Dining in Jewels

February 5, 2014

As part of my design process, I like to select an inspiration item.  It may be something my client already owns or could be a new item that fits the direction they want to go.  Creating a story around this inspiring piece is a great way to achieve continuity in a space.  Rather than selecting an already designed room to get the look from, I am selecting a beautiful necklace that I received as a Christmas gift to style a dining room.

Ok, I am going to break it all down for you by analyzing the piece of jewelry that way if you feel so inclined to do the same thing with your favorite necklace (or earrings or pin, or bracelet), you can start this way too.  Pick apart all the components, color, shape, & detail.

Image

Dining Table: This solid elm table in Antique White by Zuo Modern Contemporary carries the pearl color while the legs hold circles-$790

Image

Head Dining Chairs: Turquoise takes play in these custom button tufted-back dining chairs from Home Decorators Collection-$198/ea

Image

Side Dining Chairs: Although they may not be totally bronze, these Hamilton Bentwood Chairs from Home Decorators Collection have a Chestnut finish that have the same warm and depth of the metal-$249/Set of 2

Image

Grasscloth Wallpaper: I love the mix of metal colors in Classic Wallcoverings Inc.’s Metallic Silver Grasscloth Wallpaper-$99/roll

Image

Rug: I can never resist an Ikat and the Anegada Flat Woven Rug from Ballard Designs is just perfect bringing in all the colors from the necklace and that abstract shape of the overall charm-$449/5’x8’

Image

Mirror: Circles upon circles.  Shine upon shine.  Ballard Designs’ Sacha Mirror is so spectacular-$249

Image

Chandelier: This tasseled lighting caught my eye, even though it is on the pricier side, I just could not help but put it in this concept-$2520

Image

Dinner Plate: The feathered edges of the metallic rim of ZGallerie’s Solaris Dinner Plate is reminiscent of a tassel-$67.80/Set of 4

Image

Salad Plate: Again, a pop of turquoise atop the bronze plates comes through with the Organic Shaped Dinnerware in Celadon-$24/Set of 4

Image

And here we have it…

From Necklace to Dining Room

Janeane

2014 JPID Logo

4 Responses to “{Get the Look} Dining in Jewels”


  1. I would never have throught to design a room using a necklace for ispiration. I’ll be looking at it from a whole new perspective now!

    ~Cheryl
    http://snaps-of-ginger.blogspot.com/


  2. Wow, so amazing that you got all that inspiration just from a necklace! I love the finished room, it’s so pretty and elegant. And thanks for the recommendation on a lighting fixture for my dining room. I’ve also thought of using that same light since I have it in my son’s nursery. Decisions, decisions. 🙂


I love to read your comments. Please leave me a note! Thanks

The Thrifty Girl's Guide

Money saving tips for shopaholics, penny pinchers and everyone in between!

Curves, Curls and Clothes

Affordable fashion blog for the plus size, curvy and stylish!

Designing From My Closet

Style Tips and Services for Every Woman

Tutus And Tiny Hats

I am large, I contain multitudes.

IAMSHEGLOBAL

An exploration of art, culture and fashion through travel around the globe.

With Wonder and Whimsy

Whimsical Fashion, Travel & Lifestyle

Design*Sponge

Your home for all things Design. Home Tours, DIY Project, City Guides, Shopping Guides, Before & Afters and much more

Earnest Home co.

Home | Made | Style - A home decor, DIY, and entertaining blog

