Home

Introducing: DIY Thursdays with Goodwill of Orange County & a Superstar moment

June 18, 2014

There is something almost comical about how there are a lot of artists and creative people that are shy and keep-to-yourself personalities.  I happen to be one of them.  There is however this passion that I have for interior design that keeps me motivated to put myself in situations that pull me out of my proverbial shell.

When I was approached by Goodwill of Orange County to help them by writing do-it-yourself blog posts, I was honored to be recognized with a brand that helps our community.  Taking a tour of their main facility in Santa Ana opened my eyes to all that they do beyond the retail stores I often frequented.

Recently faced with health issues not only with myself, but with several close family members, I have been reminded of the precious time we have on this earth.  As much as I love working with my clients, I also wanted to be a part of something that would inspire others to be creative through projects for their home.

Goodwill of Orange County DIY Thursdays with Janeane

Enter, DIY Thursdays…and holy cow, I feel like I am in your face!  When I was having this picture taken, I was reminded of how when I was a little girl I used to watch the show Home Time on PBS.  I usually had no idea what Dean Johnson was talking about, but it fascinated me to watch things being made with power tools.  I am super excited about doing these posts for the Goodwill of Orange County blog and I hope you all can pop over there to take a look.

I have to tell you a short funny story too about both being shy and the Goodwill.  As I posted earlier, I attended the Grand Opening of the Goodwill in Westminster.  As I stood there listening to the CEO, VP, & several others speak at the ribbon cutting ceremony, I instructed myself…

“You are going to introduce yourself to Frank Talarico.” 

As everything wrapped up, Frank got lost in the crowd and I found myself face to face with Tri Ta, Mayor of Westminster.  My mind went back to Superstar with Molly Shannon as Mary Katherine Gallagher and I looked at him straight in the eye, stuck my hand out, and said, “Hi, I’m Janeane Pittman.  I am one of the advocates for Goodwill.”  I could have just melted into the ground at that moment.  He acknowledged me with a friendly statement I honestly cannot recall.

Hi I'm Mary Katherine Gallagher

Well, that is all for today and I hope that I am not the only one that is such a nerd.  And by the way, if you ever read this Frank, I still would like to meet you.

Janeane

2014 JPID Logo

One Response to “Introducing: DIY Thursdays with Goodwill of Orange County & a Superstar moment”

  1. Laura Says:

    LOVE the darling project


I love to read your comments. Please leave me a note! Thanks

The Thrifty Girl's Guide

Money saving tips for shopaholics, penny pinchers and everyone in between!

Curves, Curls and Clothes

Affordable fashion blog for the plus size, curvy and stylish!

Designing From My Closet

Style Tips and Services for Every Woman

Tutus And Tiny Hats

I am large, I contain multitudes.

IAMSHEGLOBAL

An exploration of art, culture and fashion through travel around the globe.

With Wonder and Whimsy

Whimsical Fashion, Travel & Lifestyle

Design*Sponge

Your home for all things Design. Home Tours, DIY Project, City Guides, Shopping Guides, Before & Afters and much more

Earnest Home co.

Home | Made | Style - A home decor, DIY, and entertaining blog

