Home

Cantilever Chair Makeover

September 10, 2014

Cantilever Chair Makeover

While on a visit to Goodwill of Orange County, I spotted two Cesca style cantilever chairs.  The chrome tubular frame was tarnished and the cheap seventies tan velveteen fabric upholstery on the seats were not doing this pair any favors.  My husband in fact was looking at me with that look, you know the one that says “what in the world?!!”  I got them for a song and I knew they were a treasure.  They were not the real deal, but I still loved the simple lines and the cane backs were impeccable.

Cantilever Chair Makeover

After removing the backs and seats, a little Brasso did the trick to renew the chrome back to sparkling.  Since I am a pattern FREAK, I just about screamed when I spotted this Thom Filicia for Kravet Ikat linen in creams, golds, & grays.  I knew the pattern would go perfectly with the chrome & blonde wood.

Cantilever Chair MakeoverA million and two staples later, the seats were covered in my beautiful linen.  Attaching the seats and backs on to the polished frames was a euphoric moment.

Cantilever Chair MakeoverA match made in heaven.

Cantilever Chair MakeoverI had a little fun and staged them as accent seating.  And now, these chairs are destined to go to a clients home that I am working on.  As if the fabric choice was not perfect enough for the chairs themselves, they go wonderfully with the mid-century style room my client is going for I have called a Heywood Wakefield Dream.  I will show you the space with them in it as soon as it is complete.

Cantilever Chair Makeover

And just because you have to see the difference again, here is the before and after once more.  Now that is ReInvented Vintage!

Janeane

 

 

 

 

 

2014 JPID Logo

I love to read your comments. Please leave me a note! Thanks

The Thrifty Girl's Guide

Money saving tips for shopaholics, penny pinchers and everyone in between!

Curves, Curls and Clothes

Affordable fashion blog for the plus size, curvy and stylish!

Designing From My Closet

Style Tips and Services for Every Woman

Tutus And Tiny Hats

I am large, I contain multitudes.

IAMSHEGLOBAL

An exploration of art, culture and fashion through travel around the globe.

With Wonder and Whimsy

Whimsical Fashion, Travel & Lifestyle

Design*Sponge

Your home for all things Design. Home Tours, DIY Project, City Guides, Shopping Guides, Before & Afters and much more

Earnest Home co.

Home | Made | Style - A home decor, DIY, and entertaining blog

