Home

One Room Challenge | Week 1

October 2, 2014

I have been following Calling It Home for a while now and have always been intrigued by the One Room Challenge that Linda hosts.  The One Room Challenge is getting a room made over in a six week period with posts every week with updates.  The final reveal will be on November 6th.  I am either really adventuress or really naive because as I read down onto Linda’s description of the weeks, she has week 4 as “being hard” and gives a preempted encouragement for week 5 by saying to “hang in there”.  So without further ado, and for those totally familiar with the One Room Challenge, here is the space I am going to redo and my design plans.

One Room Challenge Linking ParticipantThe room I selected is a client space.  It is currently a guest bedroom, and she wanted to go a totally different direction.  After we spotted two vintage Heywood Wakefield tables at a local consignment shop where I was doing a speaking event on how to mix vintage with modern, she realized she wanted to run with that style.  Her mother purchased several Heywood Wakefield pieces when she was a child, but after moving several times and pieces being sold along the way, her dream living room in that iconic atomic 50’s style never came to be.  These new-to-her pieces were now going to become the beginnings to the sitting room her mother never had.

One Room Challenge

Love those legs!

One Room Challenge

Oh, the shape on this coffee table is amazing!  I will be giving a little more history on these tables in a future post because they are so fascinating.  Although you cannot tell from the photos, both of these pieces need to be refinished, so they got sent to my studio to get worked on.  I will be going over that process along with the future furniture history post.

Now for the current space itself…a bright sunny yellow guest room with a girly daybed, a few cast offs from the rest of the house, and cat space.  No harming to cats will take place during the course of this makeover, but he just will not have full reign over this room.  In other words, we are claiming it!

Here are the before pictures:

One Room Challenge

This is the part of the room you see as you stand from the door.  Hello kitty tower and pet stairs to the bed!

One Room Challenge

Here is from the other corner on the entry wall. (You can check out the floor plan below.)

One Room Challenge

And the view from the window wall.  Yes, I am smushed up against the wall in between the rocker and the dresser shown in the photo before to take this one.  Although this room has a mirrored closet door being that it is a bedroom, I am going to utilize it to my advantage to make the sitting room appear larger.  No more kitty toys and litter box for this room.

One Room ChallengeSince I am talking so much about my clients cat, I had to throw in a picture of him that I took in another room I designed.  He posed so well.  And he is a looker for sure.  Check out that little heart on his nose!

The new design plan itself I have named the “Heywood Wakefield Dream”.  By incorporating both vintage and modern pieces together, I know this would make my clients mother proud.  It will be a space for my client to relax, entertain, and reminisce about old times.  For those of you regular readers, I know that I already shared this plan with you a couple posts ago, so please enjoy again while I go through it again.

Heywood Wakefield Dream

Mid century modern full of color and pattern is exactly what this room called for.  I just love this two seater sofa from West Elm and it is setting the perfect stage to go with the vintage finds.  This size is now sold out, thankfully I placed my order before that happened, but the three seater is still available here.  I created this design concept board in Polyvore if you want to check out the sources.  Although I am not sure if all the pieces shown will end up in the space, it gives you a good idea of the direction I am heading in.

One Room Challenge

The floor plan will be simple and straight forward with the sofa and chair making the sitting area and a desk on the other side of the room.

I am really looking forward to showing you the progress each week and seeing all the other participants in the One Room Challenge.  On the agenda for next week is showing some progress, so stay tuned.  Be sure to check out all the other participants on Calling It Home.

Janeane

2014 JPID Logo

2 Responses to “One Room Challenge | Week 1”


  1. I’m on a big mid-century modern kick, so can’t wait to see how this room comes together. Good luck with the ORC!


I love to read your comments. Please leave me a note! Thanks

The Thrifty Girl's Guide

Money saving tips for shopaholics, penny pinchers and everyone in between!

Curves, Curls and Clothes

Affordable fashion blog for the plus size, curvy and stylish!

Designing From My Closet

Style Tips and Services for Every Woman

Tutus And Tiny Hats

I am large, I contain multitudes.

IAMSHEGLOBAL

An exploration of art, culture and fashion through travel around the globe.

With Wonder and Whimsy

Whimsical Fashion, Travel & Lifestyle

Design*Sponge

Your home for all things Design. Home Tours, DIY Project, City Guides, Shopping Guides, Before & Afters and much more

Earnest Home co.

Home | Made | Style - A home decor, DIY, and entertaining blog

