Home

One Room Challenge | Week 2

October 9, 2014

One Room Challenge Linking Participant

The One Room Challenge continues today as I give you an update on the “Heywood Wakefield Dream”.  Last week I showed you my midcentury modern concept board and things are coming along nicely.  A shopping trip to West Elm was fruitful as I ordered the large seating pieces in the room and picked up the rug and the throw pillows that were in my Polyvore set.  I seriously cannot wait to see these in the space.

One Room Challenge | West Elm Peggy Sofa

The Peggy Loveseat is so perfect, so orangey scrumptious, so tufted adorbs.  I ordered it with the fabric shown on the sofa version on the showroom floor in Heathered Weave, Cayenne.  I bustled around the store taking pillows and making myself at home as the sales associates were oh, so kind.  I finally arrived at the decision to cluster the Solid Silk Hand-Loomed Pillow in Platinum, the Stamped Dot Silk Pillow, and Crewel Circlet Pillow in Cayenne on the sofa.

I got the last Canted Wool Rug in Salmon in stock at the store because the platinum, cream, tan, horseradish, salmon, & cayenne colors gave wonderful connections to other pieces in the room.  You can see the little sample on the bottom right.  The yellow horseradish tone will tie into the finish on the vintage Heywood Wakefield pieces that are being refinished.

One Room Challenge | Anders Chair

And now to round out the seating, I present the Anders Chair in Slate topped off with the Scalloped Crewel Pillow.  The chenille tweed fabric is so full of texture that it gives umph to a solid gray chair.  I love the simple lines this chair has with its flared arms.

I posted this picture on my Instagram, Facebook, and Twitter this last week asking about which way I should place the scalloped pillow getting mixed reviews.  What do you think?  A or B?

One Room Challenge

Now as for the room, the dismemberment of the bed proved to be challenging.  It was truly a bear!  So many parts, so many pieces.  Just when I thought I had removed all the screws, another one was still attached.One Room Challenge

My client was ready to part with this metal bed and I seriously had visions of revamping it.  Call it the overachieving designer in me.

One Room Challenge

I mean, can you blame me?  Just look at this detail on the back!!!  My vision was to paint it green much like the Crawford Queen Bed from Anthropologie.

crawford queen bed

As soon as I showed the image to my husband/business partner, he squashed it, snapping me back into reality.  Especially because he did most of the heavy work taking the darn thing apart and getting it out of the room, down the stairs and packed away in the car.  I also have absolutely no time, nor the space to store it waiting for a client to fall in love with this piece.  So, on to Craigslist you go and off to a wonderful new home, as is.

One Room Challenge

Now the room is clear and while the painters move in to cover the walls in Sherwin Williams Ibis White, I am working on refinishing the vintage tables.  Next week I will be showing you the Heywood Wakefield finishing process and their history.

Be sure to stop by Calling It Home to see all the other participants in the One Room Challenge.  Until then!

Janeane

2014 JPID Logo

12 Responses to “One Room Challenge | Week 2”


  1. Oh my goodness, that orange sofa is going to be killer! What a fun day at WE!! 🙂 I like A for the pillows.

  2. Tiffany Says:

    I love everything that you’ve chosen. Looking forward to seeing it come together.


  3. Love where this is headed. Good luck this week.


  4. This will be very lovely!


  5. Love the orange sofa!


  6. Love everything! Especially the lines of that chair!

  7. sdowd39 Says:

    I love the rug! It will be perfect with the sofa! “A” for the pillow! I can’t wait to see the newly painted room!
    Shelia @ House of Highlands


I love to read your comments. Please leave me a note! Thanks

The Thrifty Girl's Guide

Money saving tips for shopaholics, penny pinchers and everyone in between!

Curves, Curls and Clothes

Affordable fashion blog for the plus size, curvy and stylish!

Designing From My Closet

Style Tips and Services for Every Woman

Tutus And Tiny Hats

I am large, I contain multitudes.

IAMSHEGLOBAL

An exploration of art, culture and fashion through travel around the globe.

With Wonder and Whimsy

Whimsical Fashion, Travel & Lifestyle

Design*Sponge

Your home for all things Design. Home Tours, DIY Project, City Guides, Shopping Guides, Before & Afters and much more

Earnest Home co.

Home | Made | Style - A home decor, DIY, and entertaining blog

