Home

One Room Challenge | Week 3

October 16, 2014

One Room Challenge Linking Participant

I can’t believe we are already on week 3 of the One Room Challenge!  Be sure to check out my design concept & before pics here and my West Elm shopping trip for some of the major pieces in the space here.

The midcentury modern sitting room aka the “Heywood Wakefield Dream” is coming together quickly and my focus this week will be on the vintage Heywood Wakefield pieces.  The side table and cocktail table that were found at a consignment shop and were the inspiration for this whole design.  My client also wanted a desk in the space so when this one popped up on Craigslist, I immediately inquired about it.

Heywood Wakefiled Desk

This was a keeper and the price was right.  It had a few flaws, but nothing major.  Like the other images of the tables, it is hard to tell, but it needs refinishing as well.  That whole top portion of the front is one long, ginormous drawer.  The display shelves on the right are just wonderful too.  This particular style is called a Student Desk (M783W) that was manufactured from 1952-1961.

The desk, cocktail table, and end table pieces are solid blond maple and birch from the Modern line produced from 1936-1966.  To get the yellow cast stain called Wheat that is to resemble the tones of natural, ripened grains, I ordered a reproduction stain from a vendor called needful_useful_things on eBay.

One Room Challenge - Wheat finish

Boy is that some yellow stain!

One Room Challenge

Let the sanding commence.

One Room Challenge

Ready for stain!

One Room Challenge

Drying time.

It was interesting finding a little more history on these two tables too.  The back one is the 2-Tier End Table (M791G) and was manufactured from 1952-1953 with signature arched legs that were seen in several other Heywood Wakefield pieces so they would harmonize together.  Sexy legs!  The one in the front is the Cocktail Table (M319G) with sculpted guardrails to prevent cocktails from falling over the edge.  You know, for all those crazy parties my client is going to throw!

As the desk was drying, I was searching online for the perfect desk chair.  My client was open to something different and was not really wanting another wood piece.  Now here is the funny part, as I was searching with nothing striking me, I leaned back in my office chair and turned slightly away.  My office also contains several pieces on my Etsy shop and there it was, the perfect chair was sitting right behind me.  A pair of them to be exact.  I had recently purchased two metal cantilever chairs that I made over here.

One Room Challenge

I rushed with one of them out to the studio to see if it would work and of course, it was like it was meant to be.  Now one will act as the main desk chair and the other for next to it.  Then they can be pulled across from the love seat and placed side by side act as extra seating for the conversation area.

One Room Challenge

This sitting room is coming along and I am loving all the history behind these wonderful vintage pieces.

Now the room is painted in Sherwin Williams Ibis White (SW 7000) and the room is starting to totally transform.  Here is the West Elm Canted Wood Rug in Salmon in all it’s full glory!  It will eventually get turned the other direction, but I had to show it in the room.

One Room Challenge

This beautiful floor lamp at HomeGoods called out to be in this room, so I listened to it.

Be sure to keep following me as I continue.  I have to deal with some issues I know are looming.  It’s those kinds of things that you keep thinking about at night.  They MUST BE SOLVED!

Check out all the others working on the One Room Challenge on Calling It Home.

Janeane

2014 JPID Logo

19 Responses to “One Room Challenge | Week 3”


  1. That is a big job. Well done. Love the paint color.


  2. Love all your pieces!!! This is coming together beautifully!


  3. Beautiful restoration. Looking forward to this all coming together.

    • designwithj9 Says:

      Thanks Alana. I wish the pics showed the HUGE difference the restoration made on these pieces. I seriously could not stop “petting” the wood after they were done because it was so smooth and beautiful.

      Janeane

  4. Carrie Says:

    I love how the fabric on the chairs will look with the rug. All your pieces are great!

  5. christinedovey Says:

    I love all the vintage furniture finds and great job on the restoration!

    • designwithj9 Says:

      Thanks Christine. Finding vintage is one of my passions and I am honored my client wants to go this route. Refinishing was a job and a half, but it was totally worth it.

      Janeane


  6. This looks great! Looks like everything is coming together nicely 🙂

  7. Dana Casey Says:

    those are super great furniture pieces. the rug really pops with those and the white walls. dana

    • designwithj9 Says:

      Thank you Dana. I am a little in love with these vintage pieces and may have to visit them from time to time. I am glad my instinct was right to paint the walls white (which is totally not my MO) because of all the other colors going on, especially the rug.

      Janeane


  8. Nothing is a substitute for hard work. Looks awesome.


  9. Wow, Janeane! Looks like you are working like crazy. Looks great! Can’t wait to see everything come together.

  10. ocjess Says:

    Wow! Very exciting project, Janeane! The end and cocktail tables remind me of furniture from Joybird (http://www.joybird.com)! Can’t wait to see the final product! 🙂


I love to read your comments. Please leave me a note! Thanks

The Thrifty Girl's Guide

Money saving tips for shopaholics, penny pinchers and everyone in between!

Curves, Curls and Clothes

Affordable fashion blog for the plus size, curvy and stylish!

Designing From My Closet

Style Tips and Services for Every Woman

Tutus And Tiny Hats

I am large, I contain multitudes.

IAMSHEGLOBAL

An exploration of art, culture and fashion through travel around the globe.

Design*Sponge

Your home for all things Design. Home Tours, DIY Project, City Guides, Shopping Guides, Before & Afters and much more

Earnest Home co.

The New Traditional

