Home

Chairish Design | A Vintage Modern Living Room

October 28, 2014

Chairish Design by Janeane Pittman Interior Design

I was honored when I was contacted by Chairish to create a design based on select pieces from their curated collections of pre-loved furnishings and decor.  Using vintage items in a new and creative way to make a unique space is something I just love to do and Chairish is always on my list of vendors to check out when I am creating a design for a client.

When I opened the vintage collection they sent me, the first two things that caught my eye was a Golden Velour Three Seat Sofa and a Vintage Brass Lamp in Glossy Midnight Blue.  The sofa has wonderful sweeping lines across the back and arms and a color I knew that I could work off of.  And the lamp, well, I just love a good pillar lamp with unusual finishes.

Golden Velour Three Seat SofaVintage Brass Lamp in Glossy Midnight Blue

That golden hue spurred on a color palette of gold, pink, and turquoise with touches of black and white for impact.  Mixing in modern elements like iron and marble side tables and an acrylic and brass cocktail table, along side the vintage pieces, it elevates the design to something truly special.  I even added in a low tufted footstool to act as a dog bed because I am always finding that most of my clients have one in the family.

Overall, the nature of this room is whimsical and dramatic with a rug, yes a rug, on the wall to act as a backdrop to an ornately framed mirror.  And pillows, lots and lots of pillows.  All the different textures and patterns play off of each other making the space lively and spirited.  This design also incorporates a touch of bohemian and ethnic flair contrasting against contemporary styles.

If you are interested in having a space in your home done with a vintage modern flair, I would love to create a one-of-a-kind look for you and your family to incorporate your lifestyle.  Please email me at janeane@janeanepittman.com or send me a comment on this post so we can set up a time to chat.  For more information on my services, please visit my web site at janeanepittman.com.

See everything else a little more close up:

 

Side TableClub ChairCocktail TableTufted Low FootstoolMulti pink medallion turkish rugFloor Lampwest elm round jute rugchairish howard elliott mirrorwayfair fiddle figchairish stone tuskchairish roseville national pottery vasewest elm chevron pillowchairish ethnic paisley pillowchairish vintage lumbar pillowchairish indigo batik pillow

west elm dusen pillowchairish turquoise bowlanthro ribana pillowanthro talavera pillow

chairish turquoise potchairish petrified wood branches

Design Details

Golden Velour Three Seat Sofa | Chairish

Iron and Marble Side Tables | To The Trade

Club Chairs | To The Trade

Acrylic and Brass Cocktail Table | To The Trade

Low Tufted Footstool | Chairish

Mulit Pink Medallion Turkish Rug | Chairish

Floor Lamp | To The Trade

Bordered Round Jute Rug in Horseradish | West Elm

Howard Elliott Circular Mirror | Chairish

Fiddle Fig Tree in Planter | Wayfair

Tesselated Stone Tusk | Chairish

Roseville National Pottery Black Vase | Chairish

Embroidered Chevron Lattice Pillow Cover in Slate | West Elm

Fuchsia Pink Ethnic Paisley Designer Pillow | Chairish

Vintage Handwoven Patchwork Lumbar Pillow | Chairish

Vintage Colorful Indigo Batik Pillow | Chairish

Dusen Dusen Pillow in Black | West Elm

Vintage Brass Lamp in Glossy Midnight Blue | Chairish

Mid-Century Glidden Turquoise Pottery Bowl | Chairish

Ribana Pillow | Anthropologie

Talavera Pillow in Pink | Anthropologie

Italian Turquoise and Gilt Pot | Chairish

Polished Petrified Wood Branches | Chairish

Janeane

2014 JPID Logo

I was not compensated for this post and all the items pulled for the design were all by my choice with no limitations on vendors.

3 Responses to “Chairish Design | A Vintage Modern Living Room”


  1. love the colors in this room!!!


  2. Gorgeous palette and such a great vibe. You have great taste.


I love to read your comments. Please leave me a note! Thanks

The Thrifty Girl's Guide

Money saving tips for shopaholics, penny pinchers and everyone in between!

Curves, Curls and Clothes

Affordable fashion blog for the plus size, curvy and stylish!

Designing From My Closet

Style Tips and Services for Every Woman

Tutus And Tiny Hats

I am large, I contain multitudes.

IAMSHEGLOBAL

An exploration of art, culture and fashion through travel around the globe.

Design*Sponge

Your home for all things Design. Home Tours, DIY Project, City Guides, Shopping Guides, Before & Afters and much more

Earnest Home co.

The New Traditional

