Home

Dream Accessory Closet Revealed

November 17, 2014

Dream Accessory Closet

I have to apologize about this project.  It was quite some time ago I announced a series of posts featuring step by step details on the changing of a hall closet into a Dream Accessory Closet.  Much has happened with me personally and unfortunately, this particular blog series suffered.  I did however want to share with you the completed closet even though it is not necessarily a DIY post.

Recap: When we moved into our rental house several years ago, there was a closet at the end of the hall that I claimed as mine.  Having a true affection for accessories, I wanted to dedicate this small space to all my baubles.  Not wanting to invest too much into construction, I found a way to personalize the space to pay homage to all my costume jewelry, scarves, & handbags by using repurposed and vintage items to make it unique.

Dream Accessory Closet

The entire closet has a backdrop of a pale gray paint with gold arrows dancing across the back wall.  A triptych found at HomeGoods in brightly colored Ikat patterns give a hint of what is within this space.  On the top shelf, wire shelves from Big Lots are turned on their side assist clutches and smaller handbags stand up and be displayed neatly all in a row.

Dream Accessory Closet

Simple C-hooks from Target installed on the inside of the closet doors made the perfect necklace storage.  Holding the scarves on the left side of the closet is a tension rod also found at Target.

Dream Accessory Closet

A gold bench found at a local estate sale that was originally covered in a terry cloth towel got “re-upholstered” in faux fur from a Goodwill coat.  Although the finish on the legs has imperfections, it makes it have character.  It tucks nicely to the right of the table inside the closet when not in use.

It used to look like this before:

Gold Bench Before

Dream Accessory Closet

A gifted table shaped like a flower was “dipped” in teal paint.  It is now a staging place for glass jars filled with bracelets, a thrift shop mirror, & vintage bust adorned with a favorite necklace.

Dream Accessory Closet

A vintage rattan magazine rack nestled next to the flower table contains handbags.  They both rest on a colorful rag rug I picked up at Goodwill of Orange County.

Dream Accessory Closet

On the right side of the closet, two twig hooks collected on a sentimental day hold handbags.

Dream Accessory Closet

This closet is more than just a place for storage, it is a place for me to take a little time for myself in the morning when getting ready.  Putting those touches of accessories helps me to step out into the world as a confident woman.  It is my little oasis.

I hope you enjoyed my little accessory closet tour!

 

Janeane

2014 JPID Logo

One Response to “Dream Accessory Closet Revealed”


  1. What a great little space and such an innovative way to use it! I fantasize about moving into a bigger place and having a dressing room complete with a vanity, frilly little cushioned seat, and a giant framed mirror. This is a great alternative for those of us with limited space but a spare closet. So inspiring! I love that you’ve turned the doors into a jewelry armoire. This is giving me some great decorating ideas. Thank you!

    ❤ Liz
    http://www.withwonderandwhimsy.com


I love to read your comments. Please leave me a note! Thanks

The Thrifty Girl's Guide

Money saving tips for shopaholics, penny pinchers and everyone in between!

Curves, Curls and Clothes

Affordable fashion blog for the plus size, curvy and stylish!

Designing From My Closet

Style Tips and Services for Every Woman

Tutus And Tiny Hats

I am large, I contain multitudes.

IAMSHEGLOBAL

An exploration of art, culture and fashion through travel around the globe.

Design*Sponge

Your home for all things Design. Home Tours, DIY Project, City Guides, Shopping Guides, Before & Afters and much more

Earnest Home co.

The New Traditional

